A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in jammu

Administration in Jammu

Administration in JammuThe city of Jammu functions as the winter capital of Jammu & Kashmir state from November to April. This is when all the administrative offices move from Srinagar to Jammu.

Jammu has received the upgraded status of a municipal corporation as early as 5 September 2003 and was a municipal committee during the 2001 census of India.

Jammu District has 11 assembly constituencies: Nagrota, Gandhinagar, Jammu East, Jammu West, Bishnah, R.S.Pura , Suchetgarh, Marh, Raipur Domana , Akhnoor and Chhamb. Jammu district comprises 4 tehsils , which are namely, Akhnoor, Bishnah,Ranbir Singh Pora,Jammu. This district  further consists of 8 blocks: Akhnoor, Bhalwal, Bishnah, Khour, Marh, Ranbirsinghpora, Satwari and Dansal. Each block consists of a number of panchayats.

Municipal Administration of Jammu

The first quarter of 19th Century witnessed the establishment of the Municipality of Jammu as an after effect of the reforms undertaken by Lord Rippan. The enlargement of Modern Municipal Committees of the State was initiated by First Municipal Act of 1886 A.D. followed by amended act of 1889. Under this Act two Municipalities of Jammu and Srinagar were established for the first time.

Administration in JammuIn 1942 at Phagun the Jammu Municipality was constituted as the first administrative body of Municipal Corporation. It was later during 1893 A.D. that a separate department known as Municipal Administration and Jails was formed. In the year 1930, the Provision of the elective element in the Municipalities was introduced as an application of Jammu and Kashmir regulation 1913.

The J & K Municipal Act of 1941 paved way for the development of Municipality in the state. It was by the dint of a new regulation that the municipal administration got its current structure. It was placed under the charge of a Minister and they are provided with paid President and other staff like Secretary, Health Officer, and Revenue Officer etc.

The Jammu Municipal Corporation had enhanced limits and increased responsibility in the 51st year of the Republic of India. It was during this time that the State Legislature passed the J & K Municipal Corporation Act 2000 for the capital cities of Jammu and Srinagar which got the Status of Jammu Municipal Corporation. Consequently the limits of the Jammu Municipal Corporation were extended from 32 sq. km to 112 sq. Km in the year 2003.

Facts About Jammu Municipal Corporation

Here are some facts about the Jammu Municipal Corporation:

  • The city has been divided into 71 wards post the status upgradation to Jammu Municipal Corporation. The Old City which earlier had 23 wards, was divided into48 wards and 23 new wards were added.

  • The Jammu Municipal Council, which was an elected body, was outmoded by the Government in 1960, 1975 and lastly 1983.

  • The Elections of Jammu Municipality have taken place four times only i.e., 1956, 1972, 1980 and 2005 ever since Independence.

Important Contacts of Administrative Departments in Jammu

Here are some of the important contact numbers of the administrative department in Jammu:

Jammu Municipal Corporation

Address: Town Hall, Gummat Bazaar Rd,
Shalamar, Prem Nagar, Resham Ghar Colony,
 Opp. General Bus Stand, Jammu,
Jammu and Kashmir 180001
Phone No:0191 254 6252

Divisional Commissioner, Jammu
Department of Revenue
Address: Office of Divisional Commissioner,
Mubarik Mandi, Near Dewan Badri Nath School ,
Phone No: 0191-2544045; 0191-2544665

Additional Commissioner, Commercial Taxes, Administration
Jammu & Kashmir Commercial Taxes Department
Address: Excise & Taxation Complex,
Panama Chowk, Rail Head, 
Opp. JDA Building ,Jammu-180012.
Phone No 0191-2477432

Additional Commissioner, Commercial Taxes, Tax Planning
Jammu & Kashmir Commercial Taxes Department
Address: Excise & Taxation Complex,
Panama Chowk,
Rail Head, Opp. JDA Building,
Phone No 0191-2477303   

Additional Deputy Commissioner- Revenue
Department of Revenue
Address: Deputy Commissioner Office, Tehsil Road, 
Near Wazarat, Road Jammu-180001.
Phone No 0191-2566867       

Additional District Development Commissioner, Jammu- Revenue
Department of Revenue
Address: Deputy Commissioner Office,
Tehsil Road,  Near Wazarat Road ,
Phone No 0191-2560078   

Assistant Commissioner, Revenue, Jammu
J&K State Government Departments
Address: Deputy Commissioner Office,
Tehsil Road, Jammu-180001.
Phone No    0191-2571118

Assistant Commissioner,General, Jammu.- Revenue
Department of Revenue
Address: Deputy Commissioner Office,
Tehsil Road, Jammu-180001.
Phone No 0191-2571118   

Chairman- SPCB
State Government Corporation/ PSU/Authority
Address: Parivesh Bhawan, Transport Nagar,
Narwal, Jammu
Phone No 0191-2476927       

Chief Accounts Officer- JDA
Government Corporation/ PSU/Authority
Address: JDA Complex, Vikas Bhawan, Rail Head, 
Opp. Udyog Bhawan, Jammu-180012.
Phone No 0191-2474366       

Chief Accounts Officer- PHE
Public Health Engineering Department
Address: PHE Complex, B.C. Road,
Near General Bus Stand, Jammu-180005.
Phone No 0191-2107639

Due to the special status of Jammu and Kashmir in the constitution, no national citizen can purchase a land in the state and the state legislative assembly takes all the administrative decisions. However, the decisions taken by the central government for defense strategies are extended to the state of Jammu and Kashmir and the Supreme Court jurisdiction is also observed there.

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries